Rebecca Strauss and YA vs. MG

Rebecca Strauss works with DeFiore and Company (LLC)
Like most agents, she’s looking for a “fresh voice.” She’s also the unfortunate soul who got my most secondest query ever. I don’t think she wants that fresh of a voice….

From the looks of it, Rebecca knows what she’s doing, having worked with both Trident Media Group (which, from everything I’ve heard, is a rather renowned company) and Sony Pictures, best known for inciting the wrath of a pygmy nation.

While submitting to Rebecca (five days ago), I was still at a young and impressionable point in my career and hadn’t even realized the difference between middle grade and young adult. I mean, obviously there’s a difference if there are two separate categories, but I hadn’t really looked into it.

This seems something that any new, aspiring MG/YA writers should probably have a grasp on before they prove themselves morons as I most likely have. Especially considering the fact that more than a few articles online distinguish the two categories rather clearly.
A lazy search of “MG vs YA” will yield enough results to get the clarity ball rolling, but if you’re too lazy for thatI’ll again pimp out the fine folks over at Writer’s Digest.

THIS ARTICLE concisely breaks down the differences between Middle Grade and Young Adult works, highlighting the differences in Readers, Voice and Content.

It’s very beneficial to know these things if you intend to target anyone from the ages of 8-18. I made the mistake of telling more than a few people my manuscript falls under Young Adult when it’s actually Middle Grade. While my story’s geared toward the older MG readers and perhaps the younger YA readers, it’s still middle grade.

Moving forward, I’ll definitely make sure to properly categorize my manuscript—and look less for YA agents and more for MG agents. Because, unfortunately, Rebecca Strauss doesn’t appear to be much interested in MG. That, or if a particular agent really strikes me, I’ll clarify that my manuscript is in that shady middle ground.

So, helpful hint people: knowing what you’re selling isn’t enough. Learn what your buyers want, learn their lingo, learn their world…

Wish I’d paid more attention in my psychology courses.

Leave a Reply

